Bishop Davis Assigned to Louisville Area

July 19, 2008

Bishop G. Lindsey Davis has been assigned to serve as bishop of the Louisville Area, which includes the Kentucky Annual Conference and the Red Bird Missionary Conference.

Bishop Davis spent most of his life and ministry in Kentucky before being elected bishop in 1996. He holds degrees from Union College, University of Kentucky, and Lexington Theological Seminary.  Prior to his election as bishop, he served as pastor at First UMC in Lexington, Mayo Memorial in Paintsville, and St. Luke in Lexington. From 1994 to 1996, he was district superintendent for the Lexington District.  Since September 1996, he has been the Resident Bishop for the North Georgia Area.

Bishop Davis and his wife, Jennifer, have two adult children and three grandchildren.

Bishop James R. King, Jr., Kentucky’s Resident Bishop since 2000, has been assigned to the South Georgia Area.

Here is a complete list of episcopal assignments approved July 19 at the Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference.
Bishop B. Michael Watson—North Georgia Area, which includes the North Georgia Conference.
Bishop Paul L. Leeland—Alabama-West Florida Area, which includes the Alabama - West Florida Conference.
Bishop Alfred Gwinn—Raleigh Area, which includes the North Carolina Conference.
Bishop Charlene Kammerer—Richmond Area, which includes the Virginia Conference.
Bishop Lindsey Davis—Louisville Area, which includes the Kentucky and Red Bird Missionary Conferences.
Bishop Larry M. Goodpaster—Charlotte Area, which includes the Western North Carolina Conference.
Bishop James Swanson—Holston Area, which includes the Holston Conference.
Bishop Mary Virginia Taylor—Columbia Area, which includes the South Carolina Conference.
Bishop Hope Morgan Ward—Mississippi Area, which includes the Mississippi Conference.
Bishop James King—South Georgia Area, which includes the South Georgia Conference.
Bishop William H. Willimon—Birmingham Area, which includes the North Alabama Conference.
Bishop Richard J. Wills Jr. —Nashville Area, which includes the Memphis and Tennessee Conferences.
Bishop Timothy Whitaker—Florida Area, which includes the Florida Conference.

View photos from the reception for Bishop Davis at Lake Junaluska.

Bishop Lindsey Davis and Jennifer Davis at the
2008 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference