Bishop Davis Returns to Louisville Area

July 20, 2012

Bishop Lindsey Davis is reassigned to the Louisville Area for the upcoming quadrennium. The Louisville Area consists of both the Kentucky Annual Conference and the Red Bird Missionary Conference.

At approximately 9:45 p.m. EDT active bishops and the five bishop-elects were taken to Harrell Hall at Lake Junaluska to be informed of their assignments. About 30 minutes later, the 2012 SEJ conference was reconvened. Delegates, guests and bishops settled into Stuart Auditorium, and the chairperson of the Committee on Episcopacy shared that the committee's meetings had lasted longer than they had anticipated but after much prayerful discernment, assignments had been set.

As the bishops and their spouses lined the stage, Episcopal assignments were announced. All the assignments were meet with enthusiastic approval.  Then the bishops, their spouses and the Committee on Episcopacy joined hands for a time of prayer.

After the service, Bishop Davis said, "Jennifer and I are thrilled to be returning to Kentucky for a second quadrennium. We still have much work to do and are looking forward to continuing that work. We love  the people of the Commonwealth, both in Kentucky and Red Bird."

Jennifer Davis was equally pleased. She feels "blessed to be returning home for  another four years."

At the conclusion of the service, a reception was held to welcome the Davises back to the Louisville Area.

Rev. Dr. Debbie Wallace-Padgett, nominated by the Kentucky Conference and elected bishop on Wednesday, was assigned to the Birmingham Area (North Alabama Annual Conference).

Here is a listing of all SEJ Episcopal assignments:

·         Alabama West Florida - Bishop Paul L. Leeland
·         Charlotte - Bishop Larry M. Goodpaster
·         Florida - Bishop Ken Carter
·         Columbia - Bishop Jonathan Holston
·         Holston - Bishop Mary Virginia Taylor
·         Louisville - Bishop Lindsey Davis
·         Mississippi - Bishop James Swanson
·         Nashville - Bishop Bill McAlilly
·         North Georgia - Bishop Mike Watson
·         Raleigh - Bishop Hope Morgan Ward
·         Richmond - Bishop Young Jin Cho
·         Birmingham - Bishop Debbie Wallace-Padgett
·         South Georgia - Bishop James King