Council of Bishops welcomes thirteen newly elected bishops

November 07, 2022
By Rev. Dr. Maidstone Mulenga

Photo credit Ben Smith, SEJ and Holston Conference

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Council of Bishops (COB) of The United Methodist Church is welcoming thirteen (13) bishops who were elected during last week’s jurisdictional conferences in the United States.
“It is a joy to welcome this new class of leaders to the Council of Bishops.  I anticipate that the impact of their leadership will be felt as soon as they arrive on the scene,” said COB President Bishop Thomas J. Bickerton.
“This is a historic class that adds needed diversity to the work of our council. They also represent some of the shifts needed in the denomination at this point in our life together.   I truly look forward to the collaboration and mutual discernment that will unfold as we build trust and team work together,” Bishop Bickerton said.
The new bishops in order of their election, their jurisdiction and their assignment are:
  1. Bishop Kennetha Bigham-Tsai - North Central - Iowa 
  2. Bishop Thomas Martin Berlin - Southeastern - Florida 
  3. Bishop Dee Williamston - South Central - Louisiana
  4. Bishop Laura Merrill - South Central - Arkansas
  5. Bishop David Wilson - South Central - Great Plains
  6. Bishop Héctor A. Burgos-Núñez - Northeastern - Upper NY
  7. Bishop Lanette Plambeck - North Central - Dakotas/Minnesota
  8. Bishop Connie Mitchell Shelton - Southeastern - North Carolina
  9. Bishop Dan Schwerin - North Central - Northern Illinois
  10. Bishop Robin Dease - Southeastern - North Georgia
  11. Bishop Carlo A. Rapanut - Western - Desert Southwest
  12. Bishop Cedrick Bridgeforth - Western - Greater Northwest
  13. Bishop Dottie Escobedo-Frank - Western - Cal-Pacific
The new bishops will be formally introduced to the rest of the Council during a virtual meeting on Dec. 1, 2022.